How many of us working in the arts encourage artists to play and explore, whilst we beaver away at our computers…

… filling in funding applications, writing marketing and managing budgets? What about OUR creativity? After all, many of us do what we do having practiced as artists ourselves. Yes, we choose to do what we do, but the artist inside will always be there, nestling and niggling away, taking every opportunity to express itself.

Me, I draw a little, sing a little and take photos. And write.

Mostly I write copy for other peoples art, or proposals, or strategies, policies, business plans. But I also write because I enjoy writing. Maybe I feel allowed to ‘play’ with writing because it is not my day job. I bake strangely shaped birthday cakes, because it amuses me and others.

Today I allowed the artist inside to raise its head above the parapet, encouraged by my sister who constantly points out that I work in the visual arts yet my Flow website, until today, held no images. I tried to wriggle out, saying that if I put images of artwork up, then potential clients may think that is what I do, which thwarts expectation. You know the scene – give a presentation with pictures and someone says ‘I want one of those please’. And as I am an advocate of research-led practice, that’s not wise!

Every picture tells a story, so they say.

So that is what I have done – I’ve added pictures that can tell a story that is relevant to Flow Contemporary Arts. They are not there to make the site look pretty, but to underpin the concepts I work with. I hope.

You’ll find some of the home page, with the story at the bottom, and some here with the narrative at the top. I’d love to hear what you think about this issue. It has been an ongoing battle in my head (alongside many others)

Here’s just one as a taster……

body flow

body flow

& one of a cake to make you smile!

joels cake collage

Leave a Reply

