I’ve set up a new page for The Story of Objects research I am doing. Please follow & get involved

I’ve set up a new page for The Story of Objects research I am doing. Please follow to keep up to date and hear about opportunities to be involved.

I am doing some research relating to how generations and families are connected via the objects they own and treasure, sometimes passed on through families, others gifted, or recycled into the hands of strangers.

I have secured funding from Arts Council England to conduct some research into this. Why Arts funding? Because I trained as an artist and artists make objects that people care about. I also notice when people ‘curate’ objects in their homes, and love how people like to share stories about them – where they come from, why they have kept them, previous owners, moments remembered both social and personal.

Like many middle-age people, I have sorted out the belongings of my own parents following their death, and am now considering the things that mean a lot to me in my own life. I have thought long and hard about how to make sure that my family will know the stories behind the objects I treasure, and how those stories and ‘things’ can be logged for provenance. The Story of Objects (working title) has the potential to do this.

Most (possibly all) people have objects they care about – and it is on that premise that I have created a new Facebook page for friends, and their friends/families who are genealogy enthusiasts and interested in being involved in the research as it develops. I won’t share your information with anyone beyond my research team, I promise.

Follow the page on Facebook

dads wooden spoon

My fathers spoon – he made it when he was in a prisoner of war camp, during the 2nd World War, for being a member of the Dutch resistance (my grandfather was in the same prison with him). He ate all of his meals with it. It carries no inscription, no-one by my close family know what it is or why it was made. You do now, because I have told you the story of this object.

Leave a Reply

